jump to navigation

Why Content is Like a Cocktail June 28, 2011

Posted by christinapappas in Content Marketing.
trackback

I made it! I am officially a blogger (not affiliated with a company anyways) and have setup my blog using WordPress (totally awesome and easy if you are considering it) and I have a whole bunch of great blogs lined up. And guess what? They are all about content. Now I wasn’t necessarily sure what to focus my blog on but I knew I needed to focus on something. Content has always been near and dear to my heart but so has lead generation, lead nurturing, email communications, social media marketing, ROI and budgets, and nearly everything else that has fallen into the ‘marketing’ bucket. As I was considering this, I asked myself ‘where does content not fit?’ I mean, simply drafting an email to a colleague, affiliate, board member or sales prospect is essentially content. And where would we be without it? In a myriad of sales calls with no scripts, emails with no purpose, whitepapers that resemble datasheets and webinars that just promote promote promote? Boring!

I have always been a huge fan of vendor agnostic content and have found it a challenge to convince (and work with) senior executives that are so devoted and in love with their company and products that they just can’t seem to reason with being helpful without mentioning their products or themselves a million times – more on that later! So here we are at the Content Cocktail where we are going to talk and discuss about the role of content, why we should be doing it (if not already), how we can use it effectively to support corporate goals and how it mixes things up in a good way similar to the effects cranberry juice seems to have on vodka.

If you were to look up the definition of a cocktail you would find things like ‘a mixture of different alcohols and fruit juices served chilled’ or ‘a medicinal regime that combines several drugs’ or even ‘an appetizer comprised of fish or fruit’. Now the definition of content is not quite so interesting, in fact, it reads ‘individual items dealt with within a publication.’ Ok now we are back to boring again so my goal here with all of you is to take that content, splash some cranberry juice on it, add a slice of lime and a pretty umbrella and turn it into something that compels an action.

I am so excited to be here and thank you for being here with me. I hope you enjoy The Content Cocktail and add your thoughts, ideas and questions to the community.

Cheers!

Comments»

1. From Application to Offer, a Conversion Analysis of Job Hunting « The Content Cocktail - August 31, 2011

[…] this summer which left me jobless like many of you. I contemplated starting my own gig. Could I make it as a blogger? Could I do this for real? Could I charge companies an hourly rate to teach them how I do what I do […]

2. From Application to Offer, a Conversion Analysis of Job Hunting | striverecruitment.com - August 31, 2011

[…] this summer which left me jobless like many of you. I contemplated starting my own gig. Could I make it as a blogger? Could I do this for real? Could I charge companies an hourly rate to teach them how I do what I do […]


Leave a Reply

