jump to navigation

How Much Do You Produce? August 2, 2011

Posted by christinapappas in Blogging, Social Media.
trackback

 I attended HubSpot’s first annual user conference HUG last year which was the first time I saw this graph:

At the time, I had just started with a new company and was the first time I was solely responsible for a corporate blog. I had walked into the company stating ‘we need to blog everyday to be effective and we cannot miss one single day.’ Turns out I was right and wrong.

When this graph popped on the screen, I looked at my boss and just nodded my head pointing my finger at it. There. I had validation to blog every day. But it wasn’t as easy as I made it out to be. Yes. The decision to blog everyday was there but now I was charged with actually writing content on a daily basis. And it wasn’t easy. Perhaps I had set my bar high (I tend to do that a lot) but at what expense to my audience?

In one of my group’s on LinkedIn this week, there has been a very active discussion around the question; how often should I post? I was expecting the group to pipe up and say ‘as much as possible’ but instead I saw responses like these:

“SEO wise it is good to post new things a few times a day but as Ivan Lutrov said if you don’t have anything new to say or update about, then it is better that you don’t post at all, simply because you will end up angering your readers making them enter you blog to read nothing interesting. “

“I have seen many, many blogs with multiple posts per week but with nothing new to say. In a nutshell, if you have attitude, stance, position, and passion, but you only post once a month, I’m likely to follow you. If you don’t, it doesn’t matter how often you say nothing, I’m not interested.”

“I have seen brands posting jokes and other irrelevant humorous items that is not even related to what they do incessantly.. may be around 3 times a day but then that’s of no use. The audience will soon realize that this is nothing but just keeping your name on their wall which doesn’t sound too exciting.”

Seems like quality rules over quantity and you are better off waiting until you have something good to say than to say anything at all. Yes, I get that several posts a day with up your chances of acquisition, after all this data came from somewhere but don’t let data define your approach. Take your own; one that works for you and make it work for you.

My approach right now on this blog is to post twice a week because I know I can do at least that and live up to the expectations of my audience. When I can do more, I will. Doesn’t mean I don’t write everyday to get into the habit of eventually posting once, twice or thrice a day. But for now, this works.

What works for you?

Comments»

1. Kent, Internet Marketing Malaysia - August 3, 2011

Quality is always better than quantity. This applies in blogging as well. As I do, if I have nothing to say, I don’t blog.

Btw, how’s the guest blogging?

christinapappas - August 3, 2011

Hi Kent,

I agree! Although there are lots of answers floating around out there and I was one of the many who truly believed I needed to start by posting every day. Its not as easy as it looks though but I do believe it will come naturally with time and lots of practice!

Emailing you today on the guest blogging opp. Thanks

2. B Hill - August 3, 2011

Good summary, and thanks for sharing!

3. Ken Mueller - August 3, 2011

Keep it up, Christina. I made the decision early on to blog every day, and while it sometimes kills me, it’s like a challenge, and I actually enjoy it. But they key is to start with manageable expectations for yourself and your audience, and then be consistent, even if it is only once a week!

And I think you probably have a lot of great content in that head of yours. So keep at it! (and…a guest post for me is always welcome!)

christinapappas - August 3, 2011

Hi Ken,

Too many people look at graphs like this and just rush so fast to make money off of blogging that they miss the big picture. They are in such a rush to optimize their content and increase referral traffic and turn subscribers into customers that they start fast and lose momentum just as fast.
I too can appreciate a good challenge and I certainly had one at my company after I got my boss to buy-in to the daily post idea. But on my blog I am going to go slow but steady and while I have tons of ideas, I am pacing myself for those days when maybe I wont have as many. My personal daily challenge is not necessarily to post every day but to write something every day.

Ken Mueller - August 3, 2011

that’s a great goal, and I have a feeling you’re gonna do just fine. I’m already impressed.

4. marashorr - August 3, 2011

My goal is to post twice as week. Like you, as the only creator of content, I have to make a point of sitting down to write. But it’s always worth it! Loving your blog, by the way!

christinapappas - August 3, 2011

Thank you for the nice words! Just signed up for your blog too!

Twice a week is even a lot sometimes I have found! Was thinking of adding a third day but don’t want to get too ahead of myself.

5. Chris Ballentine - August 3, 2011

Thanks for presenting a very realistic perspective on blogging.

As I work towards jumping into the blogosphere myself, your post serves as a cautionary tale. I’ve been working on building an editorial calendar for myself to keep it light, fun and organized. I have yet to publish a single word, I’ve got a handful of posts written, but in the meantime, I tweak and jot down new ideas.

Again, I thank you for the advice. Your post is very informative, easy to read, and most important, HELPFUL. As Ken said, “keep at it”.

christinapappas - August 3, 2011

Having an editorial calendar is a great start and writing down new ideas as they come to you is key so you are off and running down the right track! I dont know what I am going to post every week but like I said, I write a post every day and let things happen as they do. But if nothing comes to me, I am armed and ready and by not committing to posting every day, I dont have to sweat it as much. The way I see it, the opportunity to do more will be waiting for me when I am ready to seize it.

Let me know when your blog is up and running, would love to have a look!

6. Marcus Sheridan - August 5, 2011

Pappas, not sure if you saw my post on this recently, but I’ve seen literally EVERY post schedule work. From people like JK with his once a week, to Gini with her 2x a day, it can all work. For me though, I prefer bloggers that write 2-3 times a week. Much more than that is over-committal, if you know what I mean.

Love what you’re doing with your blog girl 😉

Marcus

christinapappas - August 5, 2011

Hi Marcus,

Yes, I saw your post and you are absolutely right. That is why I have re-adjusted my strategy (that and committing to writing a quality post every single day is very hard!). Am doing 2 posts per week now (Mondays and Wednesdays) and may add a video post on Thursdays (have a cool name in mind but you will have to stay tuned!) which I think may take less time (but I am going to test this theory first before I commit). But writing everyday helps me get in the habit at least.

Thanks for all the kind words!


Leave a Reply

