jump to navigation

A Proper Excuse Not to Blog October 19, 2011

Posted by christinapappas in Blogging, Marketing.
trackback

Yesterday Chris Brogan posted a blog that excused all excuses when it came to not being able to find the time to blog. But my mind was racing after I read it because I have recently been struggling with finding the time to blog. It’s not that I don’t want to blog or that I lack topics to write on, but that I genuinely don’t have the time.

I started thinking of Chris vs. Christina (aka me). He is a man and I am a woman. Does that presume that I have some responsibilities that he may or may not have? I am expected to cook dinner when I get home. I spend my Sundays doing laundry – at the Laundromat and I have a full-time job that has nothing to do with this blog. Now I’m not going to make any full-blown assumptions about Chris and how he spends his time (cough Ragu cough), but I feel as though he has more opportunity than someone like me to write for his blog.

If you own your own business (which I know is a LOT of work) but does that give you more opportunity or more flexibility with your schedule giving you time to write? What about if you are single – like me- and are doing everything on your own? Do you genuinely have less time than someone who is married or has a supportive partner?

So, is there a proper excuse not to blog?

One of the commenters on Chris’s post summed it up: ‘The truth is, I (as well as I’m sure most people do as well) say they “don’t have time for something” for various reasons.  One of course, on of the most obvious: because they actually don’t. ‘

We actually don’t have time.

I don’t feel that someone that wants to blog but genuinely has no time has lost their passion for it. That it is something that is not a priority for them. We are all human beings and some things do take precedent (like eating dinner and sleeping for example). I want to blog more but I can only blog twice a week currently. Do I write more when I can? Sure. But I can’t commit to it because twice a week is hard enough already.

Do I have less passion, less drive, less desire than Chris? I doubt it. I want this more than anything and I want it even more because I love doing it.

But –

I can’t quit my day job

I can’t stop eating meals

I can’t stop sleeping

I can’t help the 1+ hour commute to and from work

I can’t help the 2 hours I am stranded at the Laundromat every week

I can’t help the time I spend grocery shopping

I can’t stop spending time with my family (its little enough as it is)

And –

I want to do more! I want to read more books and start running and be a better member of my on and offline communities. All of these things are priorities to me and none of them involve ‘keeping up with the Kardashians’.

A proper excuse not to blog? I say yes, it’s called life and it’s often a pleasanty annoying interrruption (the image in this post has one of mine).

Do you think there is a proper excuse not to blog? What are you not willing – or able – to give up in order to post content?

Comments»

1. Ashley - Embracing Beauty - October 19, 2011

Don’t feel guilty, everyone needs time away from the computer so that when they come back they have something to write about. 🙂

christinapappas - October 20, 2011

Agreed! Sometimes it’s best to just walk away and tend to life’s other demands and come back to start fresh. I constantly use the notepad in my iPhone to whip up ideas if they come to me when I am not in ‘writing mode’.

2. Stanley (@SuburbanSecrets) - October 19, 2011

Could you bring a notebook to the laundromat and write a blog post while you wait for your clothing to go through the various stages of rinsing and tumbling? Later on, you can type your already written thoughts at a fraction of the time.

I used to struggle finding the time to read, too. Then I began commuting to work by train and now I have plenty of time to read. Perhaps adjusting your schedule so that you get things done a different way will open new opportunities for you to get more things done.

How much time do you spend listening to an iPod? Consider why you read in the first place (some people enjoy the act of consuming stories through text, others just care about the story and the twist and that was Bruce Willis the whole time?!), perhaps you can listen to audio books?

I always wanted to make YouTube videos, but struggled to find the time because after a long day of school (or now, work), I just wanted to relax with my friends. Finally, I got so restless over the lack of videos I was making that I started bringing my camera with me and shoving it in my friends’ faces, telling them to do compromising things in the name of art and laughs. They reluctantly agreed and I have been consistently making videos that I’m rather proud of. Well, some are better than others, but at least I found a way to get things done.

I think Chris makes a great point, if you truly care about something (YouTube videos, clean clothes, cocktails, literature) a little creative thinking and sacrifice will let you accomplish anything you want.

If all else fails hire a ghost writer and you’ll have a robust blog in no time.

christinapappas - October 20, 2011

I agree with Chris to a certain extent but I digress to the fact that if you dont have time, you simply cannot make it. Some things can not be ‘removed’ from life or skipped for a day. I have cut back on a lot including TV and not wake up earlier to spend some time on my computer before I go sit in traffic. There is just not much more I can squeeze and I get really upset when people assume that I can and because I can’t, then it’s assumed I have no passion.

Thanks for sharing your story on how you overcame this! It’s a great example and that’s so cool that it worked out for you! You may have inspired me to re-evaluate things and see what I could do differently (train to Boston is definately one of them – and cheaper too!)

And no ghost writer for me – I gotta have my own blogger voice. Besides, this is literally my favorite thing to do besides reading so I would hate to lose even the little bit of time I spend doing it.

3. marashorr - October 19, 2011

You know my view on blogging and time. And my excuses. But, aside from that…

I used to have a 35-45 minute commute EACH WAY. Yes, I spent nearly an hour and a half in the car each day, and this was before you factor in any meeting time! Audiobooks were fantastic. Imagine getting an hour of “reading” in a day. I vote to take Stanley’s suggestion on that point. (I used to get them all through the library, so they didn’t cost me anything 🙂 You could even do the same thing with the laundry mat if you have a laptop. (Have you tried to see if a local business would provide super-sneaky access to internet?)

Wishing you luck, and a few spare moments,
Mara 🙂

christinapappas - October 20, 2011

Audiobooks huh? Never tried them but maybe I will give it a shot – what’s the harm right? I’ll let you know how it goes. While we are on the topic, have I discovered another reader 🙂 ? What are you reading currently?

Wishing you a spare moments right back Mara!

4. marashorr - October 21, 2011

Another blogless week has gone by. Productive client week… but I’m thinking that my laptop needs to come with me tomorrow to blog during my parents’ yard sale. Yes. Really. Talk about grabbing all moments!

Right now, I’m catching up on my newspaper and industry magazines but yes, I am indeed in a book club. ROOM was amazing, as was THE HELP (which I’m sure you’ve read by now). I keep promising myself I’ll get to THE HUNGER GAMES, but it hasn’t happened yet. AMERICAN WIFE was also fantastic!

How about you?

Is it sad I got more “reading” done via audiobook when I still had my ridiculous commute than I do now that I work from home?

5. Ari Herzog - October 22, 2011

“What are you not willing – or able – to give up in order to post content?”

Perhaps your conflict is you view your blog as a place to “post content” and not share your perspectives on anything that comes to mind. Perhaps you should regress and perceive your blog in the frame of a web log, a diary.

If you have fans, they will read you regardless; and you will find you always will have time to share your mind.

6. Starbucks Melody (@SbuxMel) - October 23, 2011

I don’t think blogging is for everyone. It is like writing a book with no ending in sight. I think if you really love your blogging topic, you’re going to find the time to blog, somehow. Even if it means you sleep less. You can’t really give up on a social life and family. Can you work on making the commute shorter? That sounds like a long commute! 🙂
~Melody


Leave a Reply

